Provincial Courts

Provincial courts are courts that extend throughout a province and have their seat in the respective capital. They are panels of judges with civil and criminal jurisdictional authority.

Provincial courts hear appeals lodged against rulings issued by the single-judge courts of the province. In the criminal jurisdiction they hear proceedings for crimes that carry more severe penalties (for which the criminal courts do not have competence). A magistrate, by order of distribution, presides over the jury court. The provincial court hears, in a single proceeding, appeals against the decision of an arbitrator.

The Provincial Court of A Coruña is divided into six sections, five of which are located in A Coruña, two of which have civil competence and three criminal competence. The sixth section is located in Santiago de Compostela and has civil and criminal jurisdictional authority. The seat in A Coruña is on Calle Capitán Juan Varela, and the seat in Santiago is on Calle Viena.

The Provincial Court of Lugo is divided into two sections, one with civil competence and the other with criminal competence. It is located in Plaza de Avilés square.

The Provincial Court of Ourense is divided into two sections, one with civil competence and the other with criminal competence. It is located at Plaza de Concepción Arenal, no. 1.

The Provincial Court of A Pontevedra is divided into six sections. Four are located in Pontevedra, two of which have civil competence and the other two with criminal competence. The fifth section - with criminal competence - and the sixth section - with civil competence - are both located in Vigo. The seat in Pontevedra is located at Calle Salvador Moreno, no. 5, and the seat in Vigo is located at Calle Lalín, no. 4.